May 8, 2015

Freedom First Credit Union is proud to announce $8,500 in scholarship awards to local students, including a $2,500 donation to the Virginia Tech scholarship fund.

Three students each received a $1,000 Charles Perkins Scholarship in honor of Charles Perkins, who served as general manager and president of Freedom First Credit Union. This year’s Charles Perkins Scholarship recipients are Carolina Bouldin, Dylan Kiger, and Skylar Shaver.

Carolina is graduating from Dayspring Christian Academy and plans to major in education at Bridgewater College. Dylan is graduating from Lord Botetourt High School and will attend the diesel mechanic program at Tidewater Community College. Skylar is graduating from Eastern Montgomery High School and plans to study bioscience at Virginia Tech.

The $1,000 Fritz Kehn scholarship, dedicated to the memory of one of Freedom First’s seven original charter members, was awarded to Dakota Shepherd. Dakota is graduating from Eastern Montgomery High School and plans to attend Lynchburg College.

Freedom First awarded the $1,000 City of Salem/Frank Turk Scholarship to Jessica Plott for the second year in a row. Jessica is enrolled in the accelerated BSN program at Jefferson College of Health Sciences.

Lord Botetourt High School graduate Taylor Haskins was awarded this year’s $1,000 Torie Phillips Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is given in recognition of exemplary character and academic achievement in honor of the life and memory of Lord Botetourt High School student Torie Phillips. Taylor will be attending James Madison University this fall.

Freedom First also funds a $1,000 FFCU Cabell Brand scholarship to support students whose goals include “working towards the common good.” And the Credit Union contributes $2,500 each year to Virginia Tech’s scholarship fund, which is distributed to deserving students by the university.