Freedom First Announces 2017 Board of Directors Election Results

May 12, 2017

Freedom First recently held their annual membership meeting and announced the newly elected members of the board of directors. Filling the three open positions of the nine-member volunteer board are two first-time directors, Michelle Dykstra and Ron Williams, and one re-elected incumbent, Dan Merenda.  The Freedom First Credit Union board of directors, all whom are active members of the Credit Union, are democratically elected by the membership to serve three-years terms.

  • Dan Merenda (re-elected)
  • Michelle Dykstra
  • Ron Williams

 “Our entire board of directors embodies the spirit of community and brings talent, expertise, and energy to help guide Freedom First,” said Paul Phillips, President and CEO. “We are very fortunate to have each of them by our side as we serve our members in the Roanoke and New River Valleys.”

The other six directors on Freedom First’s board will include: Nelson Shibley, Treasurer; Judith Harrison, Secretary; Melinda Payne; Brent Cochran; Wayne Strickland and Tim Sutphin. The board of directors are responsible for establishing strategic goals and guiding policies, as well as monitoring the performance of management.