Freedom First Announces 2016 Board of Directors Election Results

August 2, 2016

Freedom First recently held their annual membership meeting and announced the newly elected members of the board of directors. Filling the three open positions of the nine-member volunteer board are first-time director, Melinda Payne, and two re-elected incumbents, Wayne Strickland and Tim Sutphin. The Freedom First Credit Union board of directors, all whom are active members of the Credit Union, are democratically elected by the membership to serve three-years terms.

  • Melinda Payne is currently the Director of Planning and Development for the City of Salem. She is a Roanoke Valley native and has dedicated a great deal of time to volunteer service. Ms. Payne truly believes in giving back. She has chaired a number of major organizations in the community and is currently dedicating her time and talent to associations that serve the indigent and persons with disabilities.
  • Wayne Strickland is the Executive Director of the Roanoke Valley- Allegheny Regional Commission and chairman of the Southeast Regional Directors Institute. He also serves on other development and plan­ning boards including the Roanoke Regional Chamber of Commerce, the United Way of Roanoke Valley, the Roanoke-Blacksburg Technology Council, and the Council of Community Services. This is Mr. Strickland’s second term on the Freedom First board of directors.
  • Tim Sutphin is an Asset Protection Manager with Wal-Mart. This is his sixth term on the board, having served for the past 18 years. Mr. Sutphin is passionate about the Credit Union’s mission to help our members prosper and communities thrive.

 “Our entire board of directors embodies the spirit of community and brings talent, expertise, and energy to help guide Freedom First,” said Paul Phillips, President and CEO. “We are very fortunate to have each of them by our side as we serve our members in the Roanoke and New River Valleys.”

The other six directors on Freedom First’s board include: Frank Turk, Chairman; Dan Merenda, Vice Chairman; Nelson Shibley, Treasurer; Judith Harrison, Secretary; Joseph Coyle; and Brent Cochran. The board of directors is responsible for establishing strategic goals and guiding policies, as well as monitoring the performance of management.